St.Anthony Walking Tour

1.5 hours

Tour highlights:

St. Anthony: More than four centuries old, St. Anthony has become one of the most popular historic and cultural destinations in Newfoundland. Jacques Cartier gave it its name in the form of "St. Anthony Haven" in 1534. At that time the area was already seasonally inhabited by Biscayan (Basque) and French fishermen. During the 18th century the fishermen of Poole from Dorset, England also frequented the harbour, and a permanent settlement was established in 1815 after the Napoleonic War. Modern development of the town is credited to the arrival of Sir Wilfred Grenfell in 1892. Using St. Anthony as a base for his medical operation, Grenfell and the "Grenfell Mission" became internationally renowned for the great impact it had on communities on the Great Northern Peninsula and the Labrador coast.

Molega Tours Ltd. * 45 Beamish Road, East Uniacke * Hants County, N.S. B0N 1Z0
Phone: 902 866-0965 * Fax: 902 866-0273 * Email: molegatours@eastlink.ca