Colony of the Avalon
The capital of Newfoundland, St. John's is set on the shores of a spectacular harbour. Starting in 1497, the harbour was summer home to fleets of Europe's fisherman. The first permanent settlers were the British in the middle 1700's the city's architecture is a pleasant blend of colourful wooden houses, stately stone and brick churches and colonial buildings and modern commercial structures. An independent island spirit preserves the Newfoundlander's humour and down home hospitality. There are few cities as friendly as St. John's.
We will travel by motorcoach from St. John's to Ferryland. During the drive you will hear about the way of life in the past, present and future. At Ferryland on Newfoundland's Southern Shore, excavations have uncovered the remains of an English settlement founded in 1621 by Sir George Calvert, who later established Baltimore, Maryland. The interpretation centre houses thousands of artefacts from the 16th to 20th century, including those brought by European settlers or left by Beothucks, the native people of Newfoundland.
Ferryland: Many letters an other records written in the 16th and 17th centuries have not survived. Only a small percentage of the population was literate. They selected what they chose to write about and often had particular purposes for their writings. For example, a letter from Edward Wynne, Avalon's first governor lists the names of the settlers who wintered there in 1622/23, and the journal of James Yonge, a 16-year-old surgeon who summered in Newfoundland in 1663, explains the share system used by fisherman. The tour will include the interpretation centre, a walk around the active archaeological sites and lunch at the Colony Cafe.